You think it’s Reality? Welcome to X-Plane

X-Plane is a Flight Simulator made much more economic thanks to its community which gives free creation to the whole user of the Sim. The scenes made by the community is often high-quality and totally free (sometimes with a Donate button that I encouraged you to use when you like the works). There is a cruel lack of publishers on this platform but we can however reach excellent results, often impressive, especially with the Photorealistic textures and the autogen.

SkyMaxx Pro V.4

SkyMaxx Pro V.4

XEnviro

Mesh AlpilotX + W2XP + OrthoPhoto ZL17

Mesh AlpilotX + W2XP + OrthoPhoto ZL17

CYBD Bella Coola de Beti-X

X-Plane scenaries :

To enrich your experience of flight on X-Plane, it will be necessary, as on P3D, to add reliefs, landscapes and textures. In Term of relief, AlptilotX realized by Andras Fabian allowed all the community of X-Plane to benefit from excellent quality Mesh and totally free. You also have Simheaven who proposes you W2XP (World 2 X-Plane), an autogen of very good quality, often updated and free. Add to this Libraries, Airports textures, Airports, Photorealistic textures and you have an excellent Landscape and Free !

I advice you to add to Sky and Clouds textures, SkyMaxx Pro & XEnvirro, who are recent publishers for X-Plane, propose some very beautiful products, not free this time, but really fantastics. Clouds and sky are very accomplished, with very beautiful textures, maybe not so attractive as REX on P3D but we have anyway very beautiful things.

To summarize X-Plane is an “economic” simulator because few publishers works on this plateform, thus little to spend, but with an excellent experience of flight and very beautiful textures, free of charge because developed by the X-Plane community.

 

Here is the nonexhaustive list which will send back to all you will need to live your experience of flight with X-Plane :

 

The Free :

The “ZL” or Zoom Level is the level of Zoom used for making the Tiles in Satellite Photo. Software as Ortho4XP allow to realize oneself the different tiles (the world being divided into small pieces called Tiles):

A tile corresponds to a surface of 1° of longitude x 1° of latitude, thus a surface in km² variable according to the latitude: approximately 111 km x 111 km in the equator, approximately 78 x 111 km in the latitude 45 °

At every superior Zoom Level, the resolution increases two times and the files size increase by 4.

  • For a zoom of Level 15 (env 4.8 m/pixel), every tile takes approximately 400 to 600 Mb.
  • For a zoom of 16 (env 2.4 m/pixel), every tile takes approximately 1,8 Go.
  • For a zoom of 17 (env 1.2 m/pixel), every tile takes between 7 and 8 Go
  • For a zoom of 18 (env 60 cms/pixels), a whole tile would take approximately 32 Go.

Source FAQ Zone-Photo

Do not forget that the embellishment of X-Plane is based on the works of the community, with a very strong community. Then do not hesitate to join the various websites of this increible community to exchange, learn it more and of course, share !

Here are some Websites and Forums only reserved for X-Plane:

Here are some Websites with Quality Payware Add-ons :

And others more general for P3D and X-Plane:

The publishers are more and more numerous to propose sceneries, planes and textures for X-Plane, as Carenado, Aerosoft, Beti-X… You will find the majority of the Payware on this site: X-Plane.org

When the ATC gets involved in…

Because without ATC it is less funny, and in the optics to simulate the reality as close as possible, conversation with the Air Traffic Controllers is an other way to come closer to reality. 3 platforms exist. The 2 first ones are free. The controllers are well trained but are not professional. They cover the whole world and simulate well enough the real phraseology. Unfortunately the control is mainly made around the big regional airports. The last one, PilotEdge is a private company which employs of professional retired or reconverted controllers, thus excellent in term of realism. The only covered Zone is South California, but this time it is totally covered.
  • IVAO : The most popular. Very effective in Europe because there are many Air Traffic Controllers.
  • VATSIM : More effective in the United States
  • PilotEdge : Have to pay to use it, very realistic, but only in South California.
Do not hesitate to download the IPhone/Android Apps of the 2 first ones to know opened zones of the Air Control. It allows you to Prepare your flight in the zAir Traffic Controlled area and to train your Phraseology.

Vous pensez que c’est la réalité ? Bienvenue sur X-Plane

X-Plane est une simulateur rendu beaucoup plus économique par l’ensemble de sa communauté qui met à disposition gratuitement à l’ensemble des membres tout un tas de Scènes, souvent de grande qualité et gratuite. Il y a un cruel manque d’éditeurs sur cette plateforme mais nous arrivons tout de même à d’excellents résultats, bien souvent bluffants, surtout avec les textures Photoréalistes et l’autogen.

SkyMaxx Pro V.4

SkyMaxx Pro V.4

XEnviro

Mesh AlpilotX + W2XP + OrthoPhoto ZL17

Mesh AlpilotX + W2XP + OrthoPhoto ZL17

CYBD Bella Coola de Beti-X

Les Scenes sur X-Plane :

Pour enrichir votre expérience de vol sur X-Plane, il vous faudra comme sur P3D ajouter des reliefs, des paysages et des textures. En Terme de relief, AlptilotX réalisé par Andras Fabian a permis à toute la communauté d’X-Plane de bénéficier d’un Mesh (Relief) d’excellente qualité et gratuit. Vous avez également Simheaven qui vous propose W2XP (World 2 X-Plane), un autogen de très bonne qualité, souvent mis à jour et gratuit. Ajoutez à ceci les Bibliothèques, des textures d’Aeroports, des Aeroports, des textures Photoréalistes et vous avez un excellent Paysage… et Gratuit !

Je vous conseil vivement d’ajouter à cela des textures Ciel & Nuages, SkyMaxx Pro & XEnvirro, qui sont de récents éditeurs pour X-Plane vous proposent de très beaux produits, payants cette fois. Les nuages et le ciel sont très aboutis, avec de très belles textures, peut-être pas aussi jolie que REX sur P3D mais on a tout de même de très belles choses.

Pour résumer X-Plane est un simulateur « économique » car peu d’éditeurs donc peu à dépenser, mais avec une excellente experience de vol et de beaux décors accessibles gratuitement car développes par la communauté d’X-Plane.

Voici une liste non exhaustive qui vous renverra vers tout ce dont vous aurez besoin pour vivre votre expérience de vol avec X-Plane :

Les Gratuits :

Le « ZL » ou Zoom Level étant le niveau de Zoom utilisé pour réalisé la Tuile en Photo Satellite. Des Logiciels comme Ortho4XP permettent de réaliser soi-même des tuiles (le monde étant divisés en petits morceaux appelés Tuiles) :

Une tuile correspond à une surface de 1° de longitude x 1° de latitude, donc une surface en km² variable selon sa latitude : environ 111 km x 111 km à l’équateur, environ 78 x 111 km à la latitude 45°

A chaque niveau de zoom supérieur, la résolution est multipliée par 2 et la taille des fichiers par 4.

  • Pour un zoom de Level 15 (env 4.8 m/pixel), chaque tuile occupe environ 400 à 600 Mo.
  • Pour un zoom de 16 (env 2.4 m/pixel), chaque tuile occupe environ 1,8 Go.
  • Pour un zoom de 17 (env 1.2 m/pixel), chaque tuile occupe entre 7 et 8 Go
  • Pour un zoom de 18 (env 60 cm/pixel), une tuile entière occuperait environ 32 Go.

Source FAQ Zone-Photo

N’oubliez pas que X-Plane est un Simulateur communautaire, avec une très forte communauté. Alors n’hésitez pas à vous inscrire sur les différents sites de cette jolie communauté pour échanger, en apprendre davantage et bien sûr, partager !

Voici quelques Sites & Forums uniquement réservés à X-Plane :

Voici quelques Sites proposants des Add-ons Payants de très bonne qualité :

Et d’autres plus généraux pour P3D & X-Plane :

Les éditeurs sont de plus en plus nombreux à proposer des scènes, avions et textures pour X-Plane, comme Carenado, Aerosoft, Beti-X… Vous trouverez l’ensemble des Payware sur ce site : X-Plane.org

Quand l’ATC s’en mêle…

Parce que sans ATC c’est moins drôle, et dans l’optique de simuler au plus proche la réalité, les conversation avec les contrôleurs Aériens, 3 plateformes existent. Les 2 premières bien que gratuites, les contrôleurs sont assez bien formés. Elles couvrent le monde entier et simulent assez bien la phraséologie réelle. Malheureusement le contrôle se fait principalement autours des grands aéroports régionaux. La dernière, PilotEdge est une société privée qui emploie d’anciens contrôleurs à la retraite ou reconvertis, donc excellente en terme de réalisme. La seule Zone couverte est la Californie du Sud, mais pour le coup elle est totalement couverte.

  • IVAO : La plus populaire. Très efficace en Europe car il y a beaucoup de contrôleurs.
  • VATSIM : Plus efficace aux Etats-Unis
  • PilotEdge : Payant, très réaliste, mais uniquement en Californie du Sud.

N’hésitez pas à télécharger l’application IPhone ou Android des 2 premières pour savoir les zones ouvertes au contrôle Aérien. Cela vous permet de Préparer un vol dans cette zone et de vous entrainer à la Phraséologie.